Update: Multi-Divergence Indicator v2 for Think or Swim (MACD, RSI, CCI, On Balance Volume and many more)

I’ve made an update to the Multi-Divergence indicator. No more arrows! It’s now a lower histogram that gives you a picture of whether the divergence is increasing or decreasing, and also the size of it relative to all the other divergences on the chart. Here’s an example of it in action for $TSLA (Tesla Inc), along with a plot of Volume Weighted MACD for visualization:

2017-10-20-TOS_CHARTS

The divergences now have a value between 0 and +/- 100. Zero means no divergence is present. A bearish divergence has a negative value while a bullish divergence has a positive value. The scale is determined by the widest divergence, whether bullish or bearish, on the current chart. In this case, the widest divergence came on Sept 15. Everything else is relative to that. If a new divergence comes along that is even larger, then the indicator will scale everything to the new max value.

You can also use this new study as-is in a scan. Just set up a study filter as described below:

Go to the scan tab in Think Desktop, and choose “Stock Hacker”.  Then you click “Add Study Filter” (First in screenshot below) then click the pencil to edit the default filter that is added (Second in screenshot):

screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-7-19-25-pm

Set the aggregation period at the top to whatever timeframe you are interested in. Then edit the default ADXCrossover() seen here under Condition Wizard:

scan1

Here’s an example of how to set the scan input, looking for bullish divergences of 30 or greater on the Volume Weighted MACD with a divergence length of 20:

scan input

You click in the upper left dropdown and choose “study”, then lookup Pro_MultiDivergence_v2 from the dropdown list. Then you can select the divergence (bulldiv or beardiv) from the Plot dropdown. Under inputs you choose the length and divergence indicator you want.

For a bullish scan: Choose “is greater than or equal to” and set the select condition dropdown at top right to “Value”, and enter your scan value as a positive number.

For a bearish scan: Choose “is less than or equal to” and set the select condition dropdown at top right to “Value”, and enter your scan value as a negative number.

This indicator is in the “Donors Only” section of my Google site under Released ThinkScript Studies. You can become a donor to the blog through PayPal here:

25 Responses to “Update: Multi-Divergence Indicator v2 for Think or Swim (MACD, RSI, CCI, On Balance Volume and many more)”

  1. Example Divergence Trade: Netflix (NASDAQ: NFLX) | Read the Prospectus Says:

    […] Trading, Think or Swim, Ninjascript and other Rocket Science « Update: Multi-Divergence Indicator v2 for Think or Swim (MACD, RSI, CCI, On Balance Volume and many&… […]

  2. Chris S. Says:

    Hi, I have a few questions about your Multi-Divergence Indicator v2.

    1) Does this indicator also use your new linear regression method of calculating divergences, or does it rely on swing points?

    2) I know enough Thinkscript to be dangerous. Will it be obvious in the code where you calc the separate divergences (CCI, RSI, etc.)?

    I’d like to use this indicator as a base for a larger set of signals I’m going to combine for entry/exit assist.

    Finally, 3) How much is the donation?

    Nice work on the indicators and the site overall.

    – Chris

  3. Prospectus Says:

    V2 uses regression, not swing points. If the code isn’t obvious I can help explain it. No minimum on the donation. Whatever it is worth to you.

    >

  4. Chris S. Says:

    Donation sent. Thank you for the prompt reply!

  5. Prospectus Says:

    Sent, thank you

    >

  6. Schuyler Says:

    Can this indicator show divergence from all studies simultaneously?

  7. Prospectus Says:

    I don’t have it set up that way but it could be done. I don’t know how useful it would be. You’d probably have a divergence almost all the time. You could add separate indicators for each divergence to see them simultaneously.

    >

  8. robertsullivan1956 Says:

    I made a donation to give this indicator a try. I have downloaded the zip but need the pw. robertsullivan@yahoo.com

  9. Prospectus Says:

    Check your email

    >

  10. Example Swing VWAP / RSI Divergence Trade: $AAPL | Read the Prospectus Says:

    […] a trade I entered in Apple about 2 weeks ago where I used the Swing VWAP and the RSI MultiDivergence […]

  11. tim (@n4kia) Says:

    Hi…I have donated, could you send me the password? Thanks. My email abc89d@gmail.com

  12. Prospectus Says:

    Thanks! Check your email

    >

  13. A Look at a Few Charts Right Now | Read the Prospectus Says:

    […] and what I think my indicators are telling me. I’m mainly looking at the ProSwingVWAP and the Multi-Divergence Indicator v2 on the RSI(20). Also plotted in a gray line is an indicator I’m working on called […]

  14. Ryan Says:

    rsmjfz@yahoo.com pw please

  15. Prospectus Says:

    Sent email

    >

  16. Stuart C Says:

    I changed mp password with WP however, when I try to download “Pro_MultiDivergence_v2STUDY.zip ” my password is required but is not recognized …. could you please help me with that ?

  17. Prospectus Says:

    Email me readtheprospectus at gmail

    >

  18. Jason Hoo Says:

    I would like the “Pro_MultiDivergence_v2STUDY.zip, where could I download it and make a donation.

  19. Prospectus Says:

    See here:

    https://sites.google.com/site/prospectus/

    >

  20. Jason Hoo Says:

    I have already make a donation Pls, send me the Password. thanks
    The email of my donation was hoojsn@yahoo.com

  21. Prospectus Says:

    Sorry, was on a plane. Check your email

    >

  22. Jason Hoo Says:

    Thanks received the Password. Can it be use to Scan for Stock?

  23. Prospectus Says:

    Yes, I described how in this post:

    Update: Multi-Divergence Indicator v2 for Think or Swim (MACD, RSI, CCI, On Balance Volume and many more)

    >

  24. Noypiiihhh Says:

    I just Donate and i want that Divergence

  25. Prospectus Says:

    Check your email

    >

Leave a comment