Status Update: Getting Email Alerts from a Thinkscript through DDE

I’ve got an Excel sheet working that will send you an email upon a cell value changing. Right now it requires a Gmail account. I’ll try to generalize it as much as I can. I plan on releasing it as a free tool when it’s done. Then you can use it in your own DDE spreadsheets. I will also incorporate it into the CAT tool for donors. And I will also update the ability to stream custom columns from TOS through DDE in all my tools, thanks to reader Allen, and put up a full tutorial to walk you through setting it up. No ETA, could be a couple of weeks.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Status Update: Getting Email Alerts from a Thinkscript through DDE”

  1. Martin Says:

    I saw your ThinkOrSwim DDE examples. I was wondering if you can just get real time quotes or if you can also trigger/cancel orders, retrieve a spread mid/price. Do you know if there’s any good documentation on the DDE interface (which methods are available?)?
    Thx for your insight.

  2. Prospectus Says:

    You can’t manage orders through DDE. You can retrieve two options prices and calculate your own spread price in excel. I don’t know of any documentation of the DDE fields at all. I had to figure them out.

  3. Martin Says:

    Thx a bunch !!! Too bad there’s no API interface for TOS.
    I love their platform but for my automated trading I always need to fall back to IB.

    Thanks for the prompt reply.

  4. Clyde Says:

    Hi, I’m really looking forward to your excel dde / email app (it’s exactly what I’m trying to code right now). Even a beta of the code would be very helpful.

Leave a Reply

