Ninjatrader 7 Plug-in Beta Testers Needed

EDIT: Thanks to the beta testers! The TradeTimer has been released!

TradeTimer For NT7

I’m going full speed ahead on some Ninjatrader offerings, finally living up to the tag line of my blog. I need a couple of people who run Ninjatrader 7 to beta test a plug-in for me. Email me readtheprospectus at gmail if you are interested, and I’ll get back to you with details!

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “Ninjatrader 7 Plug-in Beta Testers Needed”

  1. BobB Says:

    I am interested. I am curious as to its benefit over just coding your times to trade.
    I am wanting to go live, but wonder does your timer allow me to sleep while I am trading a strategy?

  2. Prospectus Says:

    Technically, it would allow you to sleep through trading. But I wouldn’t recommend it. I don’t think I’d ever be comfortable letting a machine trade completely unattended.

    It is different from just programming the times in a few ways:

    1. You can change the times whenever you want without causing the chart to be reloaded. If you are plotting real time data like bid/ask volume, if you change a setting in the standard chart parameters window, that data is blown away. If you use the TradeTimer GUI, it’s totally separate and preserved your data.

    2. You can also filter your strategy to trade long-only or short-only at any time, or toggle it off completely (like just before the Fed announcements for example).

    3. If you turn off all entries with the TradeTimer, then your strategy will still process any other rules you want it to. You can stop entering, but still let your exits be managed by the strategy. If you use the built-in strategy enabled/disabled control, then your strategy stops processing data and trade rules if it’s turned to disabled.

  3. Scott Says:

    Hi,

    I am thinking of writing a front end to a NinjaTrader strategy I have that requires tweaking occasionally while it is running.

    I can go the route of communicating via a shared file but wonder if you have ever used Named Pipes to communicate to NinjaTrader or possibly shared memory via a DLL.

    Best Regards,
    Scott Boulette

  4. Prospectus Says:

    No, sorry, I haven’t worked with named pipes before.

    But the TradeTimer tool I have can do that for start/end times as well as toggling entries on and off. Its all inside a NinjaTrader indicator that has a separate GUI. It would be possible to make a customized version that uses whatever parameters you want, and they are available globally throughout all your ninja strategies and indicators.

  5. Scott Says:

    Hi,

    I was just curious; I am trying to decide whether to keep this strategy in NinjaTrader or convert it to FIX (NinjaTrader uses FIX under the covers for many of its brokers) as a stand alone .exe.

    This is a profitable strategy but has over 6,000 lines of code and many parameters (including multiple trade window trade times) and would be too complicated to have someone else do.

    I have to separate the parameters that are changed often or need to be changed quickly from the ones that are seldom changed and don’t need to be in the GUI (they can stay in the normal NinjaTrader property page).

    I appreciate any thoughts you have on the subject. This is for in house use only so I am not competitive with any product (especially yours).

    Best Regards,
    Scott

  6. Prospectus Says:

    Anything with FIX is above my experience level, so I’m no help to you there. How many parameters (roughly) need to be rapidly changed, and how often? Do they fit in several standard profiles, like configuration A, configuration B, or are they all changing in an uncorrelated manner? Those questions would tell me which way to start looking.

  7. Scott Says:

    Hi,

    I write algorithms for a prop firm and have been doing this type of work for years. I started using NinjaTrader several years ago to prototype ideas quickly to see if they had any merit.

    Once the true unmanaged approach was introduced in version 7, I found I can write algorithms very quickly but the GUI issue has been a pain.

    Currently I communicate via a file and am even toying with letting various strategies talk with each other. In the end I have decided to go to a more industrial strength approach (these run with real money accounts).

    Hopefully that approach will include NinjaTrader but if I can’t get it to work, I will write more of an overarching framework to plug strategies into. This will be almost like a dashboard.

    I appreciate you taking the time to talk about this. If I can help you in any way feel free to ask.

    Scott

  8. BobB Says:

    Hi I am curious about the comment that Scott makes about FIX….Pleas explain what that strategy is and where you could check it out?
    Thanks

  9. Scott Says:

    Bob,

    FIX is a protocol used by virtually (probably all) brokers and exchanges. It is usually used by algorithms as opposed to retail traders.

    It is a real pain to learn and kind of complicated but once you do, your application is pretty easily portable to any broker/exchange. It also gives (requires) complete control over your orders.

    Search for FIX protocol and the FIX protocol organization should show up near the top; check out the site for a pretty good explanation.

    Scott

Leave a Reply

