EOT Automation: It Shall Be Worth The Wait

EOT folks: The delays will be worth it. I’m making progress on being able to start and stop the Bill’s Arrows strategy without having to erase the day’s stored real-time values. You will have a separate form that comes up in Ninja when you initialize the strategy that will let you change parameters and arm and disarm the strategy on the fly. I can make the Ninja strategy create a form, like this:

eotform

But I’m still trying to figure out how to get the Ninja strategy to talk to the form it creates. I’m doing something wrong with the classes (any C# gurus out there?)

UPDATE: It’s working! I can arm and disarm the strategy from the form. The problem was that I didn’t link up the event handler to my button. Details, details. With this capability, I’ve solved the biggest automation problem. Now in the premarket, you initialize the strategy, F5 the chart to refresh the indicators so they are visually in sync with what the strategy is calculating against, and just leave it alone for the rest of the day.

Even though it “works” now, it still needs some more development. I want to try to integrate it into the chart toolbar if I can. Otherwise, the form only comes up when you initialize the strategy, so if you close it, you’re screwed. Plus, it doesn’t go away on it’s own, so I need to make it smart enough to not make a new one if an old one already exists. Also, I need to place all the operational parameters of the strategy on the form instead of just the “armed” switch. That way they can be adjusted without screwing up the saved real-time indicator values.

Thanks for your patience, it will be worth it in the end!

Tags:

3 Responses to “EOT Automation: It Shall Be Worth The Wait”

  1. Eric Says:

    When your in the realm of oxygen again I might suggest adding not only the ATM into the code but DAILY stoploss values AND perhaps start and stop times in the form.

    But hey who am I? Darn NICE development! Where did you get the idea to manhandle Ninja like this?

    E.

  2. Prospectus Says:

    I tried everything I could think of to get around the problems of the strategy resetting the chart when you change parameters, but it’s just not possible with NT 6.5. Then I tried loading parameters and switch states from a text file, but it locks the file so you can’t edit it from an outside program anyway. Then I found out it was possible to code a form and pass data from it to the strategy, which I have working. I need to figure out how to manage the form outside of the strategy code itself, like from a toolbar or something, and I’ll be all set (and so will you!) I plan to put all the strategy inputs on the form. There’s no reason I can see not to. But it’s a trial and error process, since there’s no documented API to interface with Ninja outside of Ninjascript sandboxes, hence the vague ETA and the delays.

  3. Eric Says:

    I hear ya man. In cobbling my own strategy the help files are very functionary and not really written well by a technical writer.

    *sigh*

    I discovered ToDay and ToTime this week.. glee.

Leave a Reply

