Excel DDE Template Files Updated

I’ve done an update to my Excel DDE template and example files. Kyle left a comment saying that my template didn’t handle options tickers. And he was right! I’ve fixed that bug. The updated files are in Released Tools over on my Google site.

7 Responses to “Excel DDE Template Files Updated”

  1. RappidFyre Says:

    Hey Pro,
    I’ve been using multiple DDE Spread Sheets to perform various functions that TOS Desktop is capable of handling as of yet.

    I have a few questions for you, if you know…
    Is there a way to capture historic data via TOS DDE and save it or database it while continuing to stream dynamic data?

    Or is there a way to capture just the historic data via TOS DDE (ie 5 years, 10 years, etc…), then when linked back to the TOS DDE the sheet can be dynamically updated without losing any historic data?

    If this can be done, is it possible to save the data to various time frames (ie: TICK data, 1 minute, 5 minute, Hourly, etc…

    Any insight would be appreciated.

    Peace-

  2. Prospectus Says:

    I don’t see a way to capture historical data. You only really have access to live data. You can record that, but you can’t go back in time to get the past data. Does that make sense?

  3. tiplex Says:

    Excel DDE Template Files Updated
    By Prospectus

    thank you for one of the best real time programs for equity options on the internet. it is especially useful with TOS and TDA

    the only shortfall is that the greeks truncate at 2 decimal places while the TDA feed to TOS is 4 decimal places. although it is still possible to maintain a delta neutral options strategy the additional accuracy would help.

    thanks,

    tiplex

  4. Prospectus Says:

    Tiplex,

    Email me a copy of your sheet and I’ll see what I can do with it.

  5. tiplex Says:

    WOW! that was fast getting back to me.

    shall i send the whole excel workbook or just the template page.

    thanks again for the great set of excel templates. they work great with TOS and my account with TDA and just what I needed for my trading strategy.

    I’m also sending some support in appreciation.

    tiplex

  6. Prospectus Says:

    Send the whole workbook. Yes, that email is fine. Glad you like them!

  7. Options contract Says:

    Options contract…

    […]Excel DDE Template Files Updated « Read the Prospectus[…]…

Leave a Reply

